2022 CNY PGA Sovik Cup Team


Members of the Syracuse District Golf Association edged the Central New York PGA, 15.5-14.5, at the 36th annual Sovik Cup. The stroke play event for senior players took place Sept. 29 at the Pompey Club.


The Sovik Cup is an annual tournament in honor of Greater Syracuse Sports Hall of Famer Larry Sovik, who won six Syracuse District Amateur Championships in his career. Senior PGA professionals from the Central New York PGA competed against senior golfers from the Syracuse District Golf Association.


Representing the CNY PGA this year were Alan Savage (Turning Stone), Rob Phelps (Vesper Hills), Tony Saraceno (Genegantslet GC), Stan Gorman (Pompey Club), Stan Lisk (Life Member), Trey Walewski (Meadowbrook GC), Mark Tucker (Cazenovia CC), Steve Campanaro (Teugega CC), Marcus Bernardo (Walden Oaks), Scott Webster (Tuscarora GC), Robert Marton (Cavalry Club) and Jack Conger (Links at Erie Village).


The Sovik Cup SDGA Amateur team members included Michael Naton, John Harrington, Jack Weinerth, Todd Dischinger, Randy Young, Chris Smithers, Tim Scheemaker, David Smith, David Hicks, Don McClure, Don VanGorder, Richard Volcko.


This is the second straight year the SDGA has won the Sovik Cup. The CNY PGA still leads the all-time series 20-14-2.


At the 49th annual Mitchell Cup, the Central New York PGA lost to the SDGA team, 34-14, on Oct. 2 at Onondaga Golf and Country Club in Fayetteville.


The Mitchell Cup is an annual team event format between the CNY PGA and SDGA’s top players. The event is named in honor of former Onondaga Golf and Country Club head pro William Mitchell.


The SDGA won the Modified Alternate Shot morning round, 7-5. The SDGA also took the Four-Ball events, 27-9.


The CNY PGA leads the all-time series 30-17-1.


Competing for the CNY PGA: Kevin Roman, Jeff Reader, Trey Walewski, Eric Manning, Mark Tucker, Matt Jaynes, Robbie Phelps, Will Weimer, Alan Savage, Kevin McCarthy, Rob Phelps and Andy Myers.


Members of the SDGA squad were:  Kevin VandenBerg, Brad Monroe, Connor Wisniewski, Luke Hobika, Joe Petrin, Chris Quilty, Steve Arlukiewicz, Jackson Saroney, Max Dec, Adam Butch, Jim Hirsch and Doug DeCarlo.