Section Awards

Special Awards Nomination Form

Detailed Description of Awards



The Central New York PGA Special Awards identify PGA Professionals in Central New York that have proven their outstanding leadership in a number of categories.


Golf Professional of the Year - One of the highest honors the Association can bestow on a working club professional whose total contributions to the game best exemplify the complete PGA Professional.


     - Martha Wells (2017)


Player Development Award - Designed to recognize a PGA Professional for extraordinary and exemplary contributions and achievements in the area of player development.  This award considers the PGA Professional's growth of the game leadership commitment at the Section and National levels and impact made at the facility.


     - Marian Blain (2017)


Teacher of the Year - Designed to recognize a PGA Professional who is an outstanding teacher of golf among the ranks of PGA membership.  This award is based on a professional's overall performance in teaching; unusual, innovative and special teaching programs initiated or implemented; articles published; as well as outstanding golfers the professional has instructed.


     - David Rhone (2017)


Horton Smith Award - Recognizes the PGA Professional who is the model educator of PGA Golf Professionals.  This award is designed to give special recognition to an individual PGA Professional for outstanding and continuing contributions to professional education.


     - Steve Nacewicz (2017)


Bill Strausbaugh Award - Designed to recognize PGA Professionals who by their day-to-day efforts have distinguished themselves by mentoring their fellow PGA Professionals in improving their employment situations and through service to the community.


     - Dustin Jones (2017)


Youth Player Development Award - Pays recognition to a Central New York PGA Professional who is a leader in junior golf, reflects the qualities and ideals of those who work with our nation's youth.  This person provides opportunities and experiences for juniors to learn and play better golf.


     - Matt Jaynes (2017)


Patriot Award - Presented to a PGA Professional who personifies patriotism through the game of golf and demonstrates unwavering commitment and dedication to the men and women who have valiantly served and protected the United States of America.

     - Bob Fuller (2017)


     - Steve Nacewicz (2017)


Merchandiser of the Year - Recognizes those Central New York PGA Professionals who have demonstrated superior skills as merchandisers in the promotion of golf.  The award is given for excellence in golf shop operations.


     - Martha Wells (Private 2017)


     - Naomi Nessenoff (Resort 2017)


     - Steve Volpicelli (Public 2017)


Assistant Professional of the Year - Candidates should possess outstanding qualities of leadership, strong community involvement and a substantial record of service to the PGA, the CNYPGA Assistants' Association, their club or employer, and the game of golf.


     - John Taranto (2017)


Sales Representative of the Year - The premier award presented to one of the Section's Sales Manufacturer Representatives.


     - Mike Moran (2017)